Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Search for legal issues
For help near (city, ZIP code or county)
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location

Social Security Disability Appeals Process

Unlike most other legal procedures, the appeals process for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits is divided into four distinct levels. The initial appeal is called "reconsideration" and involves a review of the original claim. But while most reconsideration requests are denied, claimants may then request a hearing with an Administrative Law Judge. Applicants whose claims are again denied or otherwise do not result in the desired outcome may request a review by the SSA Appeals Council, followed by a claim in federal court. This section will help you understand and prepare for a disability claim appeal.

Learn About Social Security Disability Appeals Process

Find a Lawyer

More Options